Football 101

The NFL Structure

There are 32 teams in the NFL that are split evenly between two conferences:  the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC). 

Each conference is further broken down into 4 divisions: East, North, South, and West.  Each division has 4 teams, who play each other twice a year, in one home game and one away game.  These intra-division teams have some of the biggest rivalries, because they play each other so regularly. 

The rest of the 16-game regular season is based on the teams’ relative performance in the past year and on a rotating schedule so that all teams play one another at least once every 3-4 years.